“Let’s screw something up WORSE!” or “How the hell do Republicans exist?!”

July 6, 2010 at 17:04 3 comments

Those of you may remember ages ago when I posted my SPOUT about the DEMOCRATS and their proposed internet kill switch bill. Well, the Republicans have topped it.

It seems that they weren’t satisfied with the bill as it was, saying it would “provide too much of a burden to the already overburdened Department of Homeland Security”. So they proposed their own bill. Which creates an office in the Pentagon to oversee United States civilian cybersecurity.

Wait…WHAT?!?

Those who have a good sense of governmental infrastructure understand that 99.9% of any office/agency housed in the Pentagon are under MILITARY CONTROL. Also, the mere fact that the Republican bill says the word ‘civilian’ in conjunction with creation of a Pentagon office/agency gives it away.

Sadly, neither bill is to my personal liking and neither bill is what I want to happen for our precious global resource called affectionately “the tubes”.

The bill as proposed by the Democrats is bad. The Republican bill is worse. Tell EVERY legislator you know to ditch both and start again.

At this point, the real question all of you out there is this: Who would you rather have in control of your country’s internet kill switch? The President or the Military?

Comment below and I will do my best to answer!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

“Short and Sour Apples” OR “I’m gonna make this REEEEALLY easy for you…” “Fixing Idiots” or “Have you ever even SEEN pager data?”

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jonolan  |  July 6, 2010 at 17:48

    You’re right that both bills are very bad, but I’d far sooner trust the military – they’re actually American in their hearts and souls – than any group that Obama or his raving pack of traitors would appoint.

    Reply
    • 2. jayembee  |  July 6, 2010 at 18:07

      In response to your comment jonolan, I’m not so sure I’d go that quickly with the military. Here’s my reasoning.

      The other day, I was at a convenience store and I saw a member of our armed forces in full ACUs. I stopped to thank him for his service, as I do with all veterans and active service members, and went about my business. I overheard him discussing something with the store clerk and heard him exclaim, “Well, he’s not

        MY

      commander-in-chief!”. That really hit me. If I recall correctly, your political views come second to carrying out your orders and that INCLUDES any order given by President Obama, who is indeed your Commander-In-Chief. Also, I thought you weren’t supposed to bad mouth the CinC while in uniform?

      I love our military and our country, but guys like this seem to be becoming the norm. Thusly, do I really want to trust the kill switch to someone who may not have designs to help our country merely because of who (or what party) sits in the big chair?

      Thank you for your comment, jonolan! I appreciate it. Have a nice day!

      Reply
  • 3. jonolan  |  July 6, 2010 at 18:33

    Obama railed against our military as a Senator, repeatedly insulted them during his campaign for the Presidency, and has disrespected our them since his first few hours in office. He’s also largely misused them due to his unwillingness to make a decision on what he wanted in Afghanistan.

    I’m not overly surprised that many of them have no love or faith in him. It’s very sad, but it’s not surprising and it’s something that Obama brought upon himself.

    You’re absolutely correct though; that was inappropriate and illegal (under UCMJ which trumps the Constitution) behavior on the part of the soldier you’ve mentioned.

    His attitude toward Obama is materially irrelevant though since it has no bearing on how he would react to the infringement of the rights of the people he has sworn to protect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent SPOUTings:

When did we SPOUT?

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

